LCM has won the EARTO AWARD 2023 in the category “Impact Delivered” for the development work on the Voith eVSP .

We congratulate Hubert Mitterhofer and the Motor Technology Team around Ralf Kobler!

Hubert Mitterhofer and his team received the coveted award in the category “Impact Delivered” for their groundbreaking work on the electric Voith Schneider Propeller (eVSP), an electric propulsion solution for particularly maneuverable vessels.

The eVSP increases efficiency in all load scenarios, reduces lubricating oil and significantly lowers noise emissions. The first ships equipped with it – 80-meter-long service vessels for offshore wind platforms – thus save 370 tons of marine diesel per year. In the long term, fuel cells or other renewable energy sources are expected to replace the current diesel generators to enable true zero-emission shipping.

This award underscores LCM’s commitment to a sustainable future. The eVSP is a milestone on the road to zero-emission shipping. Our optimization tool SyMSpace was again key to the development of this complex propulsion system.

The award was presented by Antti Vasara (President EARTO, CEO of VTT) to Hubert Mitterhofer (LCM Area Manager Drives) and Johann Hoffelner (CSO of LCM).

Share this information