Acoustic Localization System

Acoustic Localization System

Acoustic Localization

Many systems for position determination and collision avoidance are based on the propagation of electromagnetic waves. In environments with strong interferences, e.g. industrial or mining, this can lead to incorrect measurements that may endanger persons or machines. The acoustical measurement method developed by the Linz Center of Mechatronics GmbH (LCM) provides increased safety and robustness by applying the physical principle of sound propagation.

Security System for Miners

Within the EU / RFCS-Project FEATureFACE, LCM developed a localization system that detects miners in the vicinity of mining machinery and stops the machine in dangerous situations. The environmental conditions of, e.g., coal mines that are located 1000 meters below ground exhibit special challenges: Numerous metal fittings and electrically-operated machines frequently cause disturbances in purely electromagnetic systems. Hence, sound propagation was used as an additional physical principle.

Development

To make this system usable in the noisy industrial environment, LCM has developed specially coded acoustic measurement signals. In combination with innovative signal processing, these enable reliable and precise measurements of the location and speed of the mobile subscribers to be monitored.

Left: Hard hat microphone which facilitates the recording of the measurement signals. Right: Mobile tag carried by the miner that contains radio and signal processing units (Source: LCM).

Originally designed for 2D-localization, the system was adapted such as to allow for the determination of 3D-positions. In stationary scenarios, the 3D-system provides a position accuracy in the range of cm.

The Particularities

In order to avoid unnecessary acoustic disturbances, an adaptive control adjusts the volume to the minimum required for reliable measurements.

An ATEX certification is required for use in an explosive atmosphere. This has been taken into account by the fact that the loudspeakers used already have this authorization and the mobile tags have been designed for the lowest possible energy consumption.

ATEX-certified loudspeaker as used in the FEATureFACE system (Source: LCM).

This localization system was designed for mining applications. However, it may serve in a wider range of applications: Industrial plants (particularly in plants without staff), building lots, collision avoidance systems around industrial vehicles, among others.

LCM Competences

  • Development of the measurement concept
  • Electro-acoustics
  • Algorithm development for signal processing and localization
  • Adaptive volume control
  • Demonstrator of the prototype system

Patent

„Ortungssystem zur Absicherung einer Gefahrenzone um mobile Arbeitsmaschinen“, Buchegger, Fenzl, Gebhard, Hammer, Hesch, Pfeil, Pichler, Nummer DE 10 2014 103 705. Beginn Laufzeit 19.03.2014; Erteilung: 15.12.2016.

Best acoustic System at the Microsoft Indoor Localization Competition 2016

In April 2016, the LCM participated in the Microsoft Indoor Localization Competition and, with 8th place, achieved the best result among the acoustic systems. Impressions of this competition can be seen HERE:

Press

http://cordis.europa.eu/news/rcn/123845_en.html

 

Skills

Posted on

21. March 2016

Die Österreichische Forschungsförderungsgesellschaft FFG -  Logo
Bundesministerium für Verkehr, Innovation und Technologie -  Logo
Bundesministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Wirtschaft -  Logo
Forschungsland Oberösterreich -  Logo
UAR Innovation Network - Logo
COMET – Competence Centers for Excellent Technologies -  Logo
Europa -  Logo

Akustisches Lokalisierungssystem

Akustisches Lokalisierungssystem

Akustische Lokalisierung

Viele Systeme zur Positionsbestimmung und Kollisionsvermeidung basieren auf der Ausbreitung von elektromagnetischen Wellen. In Umgebungen mit starken Störeinflüssen (z.B. Industrie oder Bergbau) kann es damit zu Fehlmessungen kommen, die Personen oder Maschinen gefährden. Die von der Linz Center of Mechatronics GmbH (LCM) entwickelte akustische Messmethode bringt durch das überlagerte physikalische Prinzip der Schallausbreitung erhöhte Sicherheit und Robustheit.

Sicherheitssystem für Bergmänner

Im Rahmen des EU/RFCS-Projekts FEATureFACE entwickelte LCM ein Lokalisierungs-System, das die Position von Bergarbeitern im Umfeld von Bergbaumaschinen ermittelt und die Maschine im Gefahrenfall still setzt. Die besonderen Herausforderungen waren dabei die Umweltbedingungen, wie sie z.B. in Steinkohleminen 1000 Meter „unter Tag“ zu finden sind: Die zahlreichen Einbauten aus Metall und elektrisch betriebene Maschinen verursachen bei rein elektromagnetischen Systemen immer wieder Störungen. Darum wurde die Schallausbreitung als zusätzliches physikalisches Prinzip benutzt.

Entwicklung

Um dieses System im lauten Industrieumfeld einsetzbar zu machen, hat LCM besonders kodierte akustische Messsignale entwickelt. Diese ermöglichen zusammen mit innovativer Signalverarbeitung zuverlässige und präzise Messungen sowohl zu Ort als auch Geschwindigkeit der zu überwachenden mobilen Teilnehmer.

Ursprünglich für 2D-Lokalisierung ausgelegt, wurden das System und die Algorithmen für die Positionsschätzung dermaßen adaptiert, dass 3D-Positionen gemessen werden können. In stationären Szenarien erreicht das System eine Genauigkeit im Bereich von wenigen cm.

Die Besonderheiten

Um die akustische Belastung nicht unnötig zu erhöhen, arbeitet das System mit einer adaptiven Lautstärkeregelung, die immer nur die für eine zuverlässige Messung notwendige Mindestlautstärke abstrahlt.

Für den Einsatz in explosionsgefährdeter Umgebung ist eine ATEX-Zertifizierung notwendig. Dies wurde berücksichtigt, indem die verwendeten Lautsprecher diese Zulassung bereits besitzen und die mobilen Tags auf möglichst geringen Energieverbrauch hin konzipiert wurden.

Anwendungsgebiete

Dieses Lokalisierungssystem wurde für den Bergbau konzipiert, doch die Anwendungsgebiete sind breiter: Industrieanlagen (insbesondere in personal-losen Anlagen), Baustellen, Kollisionsvermeidungs-Systeme um Industriefahrzeuge, u.a.

LCM Kompetenzen

  • Entwicklung des Messkonzeptes
  • Elektroakustik
  • Algorithmen-Entwicklung für Signalverarbeitung und Lokalisierung
  • Adaptive Lautstärkenregelung
  • Demonstrator des Prototyp-Systems

Patent

„Ortungssystem zur Absicherung einer Gefahrenzone um mobile Arbeitsmaschinen“, Buchegger, Fenzl, Gebhard, Hammer, Hesch, Pfeil, Pichler, Nummer DE 10 2014 103 705. Beginn Laufzeit 19.03.2014; Erteilung: 15.12.2016.

Bestes akustisches System bei Microsoft Competition 2016

Im April 2016 nahm das LCM an der Microsoft Indoor Localization Competition teil, und erzielte mit Platz 8 das beste Ergebnis unter den akustischen Systemen. Eindrücke von diesem Wettbewerb sehen Sie HIER.

Projekt in der Presse | Medien

Neues Kollisionsschutzsystem für mehr Sicherheit im Bergbau

Lebensrettende Algorithmen

 

 

 

Fähigkeiten

, , ,

Gepostet am

21. März 2016

Die Österreichische Forschungsförderungsgesellschaft FFG -  Logo
Bundesministerium für Verkehr, Innovation und Technologie -  Logo
Bundesministerium für Wissenschaft, Forschung und Wirtschaft -  Logo
Forschungsland Oberösterreich -  Logo
UAR Innovation Network - Logo
COMET – Competence Centers for Excellent Technologies -  Logo
Europa -  Logo